Michigan Truck Accident Help Center > Michigan Truck Accident Questions
Click on each question below to read the answer.
For third party claims, you must bring your suit within a certain period of time or it will be forever barred. A claim against the negligent driver must be brought within 3 years after the truck accident. There are exceptions to this for minors, military personnel, mentally incapacitated individuals, and survivors of individuals killed in a truck accident.
In regard to a first party claim, an application for benefits must be filed with the insurance company within 1 year of the accident. You also have 1 year to make sure than an expense for a first party benefit is paid or the claim will be barred by law.
Therefore, it is important to contact our office immediately to ensure your claim is filed in a timely manner.
If you were driving an uninsured vehicle (that you owned) when the accident occurred, then you cannot bring a lawsuit at all (this includes both first and third party claims).
If you feel you were partially to blame (or even if the police thought you were partially at fault), then you may possibly be barred. Under Michigan law, if you are more than 50% at fault for the accident, then you cannot bring a lawsuit. However, you should still contact our office. Our experienced truck accident attorneys are better qualified to assess whether you still have a claim.
This is a provision in your insurance policy that helps protect you if the negligent truck driver did not have insurance coverage or if you were involved in a “hit and run” situation.
You can purchase this type of coverage in addition to your policy. So, for instance, if you are ever involved in an accident with someone that is uninsured or that has fled the scene, then you can recover money under this provision from your own insurance company.
Underinsured Motorist Coverage is a provision in your policy that applies when the other driver didn’t have enough insurance to cover your injuries.
Say, for instance, you were involved in a truck accident where the negligent driver only had $20,000 in coverage, and you suffered injuries costing you $40,000. Because the negligent driver only carried a policy worth $20,000, you could only recover a maximum of $20,000 from the negligent driver. If you had an underinsured motorist provision in your policy, then you could make the claim against your own carrier for additional money to help pay for your expenses.
This depends on your insurance policy. If you have a collision/property damage provision, then you can seek reimbursement from your insurance company. Further, Michigan law allows you to recover up to $500 of your costs that insurance doesn't cover. In other words, you can sue the at-fault driver for up to $500 of your repair costs.
When a Michigan semi-truck, tractor-trailer, big rig, eighteen wheeler or just a regular truck accident leaves you seriously injured, impaired, or hurt, you need attorney Michael Morse to help you through this confusing and difficult process. Call for your free consultation today at 800-281-0606 or email .
Our results speak for themselves. In 2009, we have won more than $30 million for our clients.
AUTO ACCIDENT - Oakland County, Michigan: $800,000.00 settlement for a woman who was hit by a handyman going to work. She suffered a tri-malleolar ankle injury which required 3 surgeries.